Robert Ivy Receives First Time Polk Award To An Architect

American Institute of Architects (AIA) chief executive officer and executive vice president Robert Ivy will be honored with the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award, the first time an architect has received the award.

Ivy becomes a member of a small group of prominent Mississippians to be so respected, a group that includes Morgan Freeman, Shelby Foote, Eudora Welty and more according to

The award, which is presented by the privately-funded, non profit Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters (MIAL), will be given to Ivy and to Andrew Cary Young, stained glass designer of Pearl River Glass Studio, at an event on June 2.

MIAL president Nancy LaForge commented in a statement that when it comes to making architecture more readily obtainable to the community, Ivy is unique in his abilities as a writer and reviewer of architecture on a global basis.

Like American Institute of Architects on Facebook

AIA President Carl Elefante also commented on what an admirable representative Ivy is to the profession.

Ivy received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of the South in Tennessee and his Master’s Degree in architecture from Tulane University.

Ivy has considerably grown the full amount of the membership of the AIA to its highest level in its history. Headquartered in Washington, DC, the AIA, which was founded in 1857, has more than 260 chapters worldwide.

Prior to joining the AIA, Ivy was the editor in chief of McGraw-Hill’s Architectural Record in 1996 and saw its growth soar to new heights. Under his leadership, Architectural Record received the American Society of Magazine Editors National Magazine Award for General Excellence and numerous other awards.

Ivy was the recipient of the Crain Award, for his editorial excellence. The award is the highest award the American Business Media confers.

In addition, the national architecture fraternity Alpha Rho Chi paid tribute to Ivy for his efficiency in conveying his ideas on the value of design.

He is one of seven to be given this honor in the fraternity’s 100-year history and he shares the title Master Architect with architects that include Mies van der Rohe and I. M. Pei.